July 5, 2020 - Updates for Members

Nominations due August 14 for CDA awards

The CDA recognizes and encourages outstanding performance in the Canadian dam industry by presenting a number of awards every year.  The awards recognize individuals’ achievement and services, as well as corporate contributions to the dam industry. 

Although the annual CDA conference has been postponed until the fall of 2021, CDA is still seeking nominations for 2020.  While winners will be formally recognized by their peers and the industry in 2021, they will be announced in 2020.

Nominations are open for the following awards:

Inge Anderson Award of Merit
This award recognizes CDA members who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge and practices related to dams in Canada. The award is offered every two years to a member of CDA.  CDA is seeking nominations for this award in 2020.

2018 Winner – Norbert Morgenstern, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Engineering, University of Alberta 

Peter Halliday Award for Service
This award recognizes CDA members who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to CDA and have made valued contributions to the advancement of the Association. 

2019 Winner – Richard Gervais, retired

Published Paper Award
This award is offered to the author(s) who prepares and publishes an outstanding article or technical paper on dam-related issues in Canada. It can be from any published source or conference.

2019 Winner - Valérie Michaud, Judson Kennedy, and Ryan Blanchard - Using Magnetometric Resistivity to Identify Preferential Seepage Flow Paths at a Tailings Dam

Corporate Award
This award recognizes CDA Corporate Members, including companies, organizations, government agencies and other entities, whose overall contributions to dam industry merit recognition. 

2019 Winner – Alberta Environment and Parks

How do I nominate an individual or an organization?
Nominators need to complete a nomination form which can be downloaded from the CDA website by August 14.  Completed forms can be submitted to the Chair of the Honours & Awards Committee by email at or by regular mail to: 

Canadian Dam Association
3-1750 The Queensway, Suite 1111
Toronto, Ontario, M9C 5H5

What’s the deadline for submitting a nomination?
The deadline for submitting nominations is August 14, 2020.

Need more information?
For more information about the awards please click here.