Corporate Award

The CDA Corporate Award recognizes the Sustaining Members and Corporate Members whose contributions to the dam industry merit recognition. Up to two awards are offered annually. The award may be based on various criteria, including but not limited to:


Meet, Suncor Energyy, the 2021 recipient :

Suncor oil sands mining operations are located near Fort McMurray in northern Alberta and include the Millennium and North Steepbank sites, the Suncor-operated Fort Hills mine, as well as the (former Syncrude) operations at Aurora North and Mildred Lake sites.

Suncor takes tailings dam safety and environmental stewardship very seriously and has been implementing a robust dam safety program since they began operations in the Athabasca Oil Sands in the late 1960s. They have successfully constructed dozens of major tailings dams, each one with unique challenges.

Suncor’s dam safety program protects the integrity of tailings dam structures through extensive checks and balances for design, construction, and monitoring, including a series of internal and external reviews. They have been innovative in the areas of tailings reduction technologies, reclamation of tailings storage facilities, winter construction of dams, hydraulically placed sand construction and densification as well as maintaining dam safety during the forest fires that crippled the region in 2016 and 2017.

Suncor is also an active member in Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) and the Mining Association of Canada (MAC), and they also support the work of the CDA. They demonstrated leadership in safe design, construction, and operation of mining dams in Alberta, contributing to the advancement of the mining dams engineering state of practice and associated research.

The previous recipients are: 

2011 - Ontario Power Generation (for Innovation and Leadership) 2016 - Parks Canada
2011 - Hydro Quebec (for International Co-operation) 2017 - Klohn Crippen Berger
2011 - BC Hydro (for Advancing State of Practice) 2018 - Hydro Quebec
2012 - Saskatchewan Watershed Authority 2019 - Alberta Environment and Parks
2012 - Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources 2020 - Manitoba Hydro
2013 - Hatch 2020 - Teck Resources Ltd.
2013 - Meco 2021 - Suncor Energy Inc.
2014 - Worthington Products  
2015 - Grand River Conservation Authority  

Corporate Award - Nomination Form