Awards Program

The CDA recognizes and encourages outstanding performance in the Canadian dam industry by presenting a number of awards every year.  The awards recognize individuals’ achievement and services, as well as corporate contributions to the dam industry.  

The CDA honoured its members and post-graduate student in a unique video presentation on October 6, 2020 as part of its virtual Annual General Meeting, replacing the traditional in-person Awards Gala. 

Inge Anderson Award of Merit

This award recognizes CDA members who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge and practices related to dams in Canada. The award is offered every two years to a member of CDA.  CDA is seeking nominations for this award in 2020.

2020 Winner – Edward (Ed) McRoberts

Inge Anderson - Nomination Form 2021

Peter Halliday Award for Service

This award recognizes CDA members who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to CDA and have made valued contributions to the advancement of the Association. 

2020 Winner – Bill Chin

Peter Halliday - Nomination Form 2021

Published Paper Award

This award is offered to the author(s) who prepares and publishes an outstanding article or technical paper on dam-related issues in Canada. It can be from any published source or conference.

2020 - Stephen Rigbey and Desmond (Des) Hartford
Oroville in Retrospect: What needs to change?

2020 - Jeremy Boswell, Amy Rentz, Paul Cavanagh, Larry Staples and Lianne Lefsrud
Preliminary Work by the Alberta Dam Integrity Advisory Committee (DIAC) Towards Thinking Clearly and Communicating Effectively about Risk 

Corporate Award

This award recognizes CDA Corporate Members, including companies, organizations, government agencies and other entities, whose overall contributions to dam industry merit recognition. 

2020 Winner – Manitoba Hydro
2020 Winner - Teck Resources Ltd.

Corporate Award - Nomination Form 2021

Scholarship Program

CDA offers up to two scholarships annually to full-time postgraduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. 

The Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship, valued at $5,000 is awarded to the top applicant and the CDA Research Scholarship of $2,500 is awarded to the runner-up. Candidates are evaluated on the relevance of their research work and the potential for the advancement of knowledge, leadership and community involvement, and academic excellence.

2020 Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship - Mayari Bernard-Garcia, Polytechnique Montréal

2020 CDA Research Scholarship - Elijah Edie, University of Manitoba 

2020 CDA Student Award of Merit - Laura Luna, Dalhousie University

2020 CDA Student Award of Merit - Ali Fallah Yeznabad, Western University

The CDA Scholarships Application Form 2021