Governance

Board of Directors

CDA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors with the assistance of an Executive Director who takes care of the day-to-day management of the organization. There is representation on the Board from most of the Provinces and Territories, and two Directors at Large, one of whom provides the Association's link with the International Commission on Large Dams (ICOLD).

Most members of the Board are elected for nominal two-year terms. The Vice President is elected for a three-year term: one year as Vice President, one as President and one as Past President. The Secretary-Treasurer, Directors and Directors-at-Large may serve up to two consecutive two-year terms. Elections are held by membership-wide ballot and confirmed by a vote at the Annual General Meeting.

The Board of Directors has the authority to appoint up to two more Director at Large to provide assistance in its oversight responsibilities for some specific governance or operational area. The appointed Directors at Large serve until the next Annual General Meeting.

Management

The Association's operations are managed by the Executive Director, who reports to the Board of Directors, and are implemented by paid staff.

President

bio pic

Michael Cyr
Klohn Crippen Berger
Fredericton, NB

president@cda.ca

Vice President

bio pic

Eric Péloquin
Hydro-Quebec
Montreal, QC

vice.president@cda.ca

Secretary-Treasurer

bio pic
Navin Gautam
Ontario Power Generation
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON

secretary.treasurer@cda.ca

Past President

bio pic

Marie-Hélène Briand
Hatch
Montréal, QC

past.president@cda.ca

Executive Director



Lyne Trahan
Canadian Dam Association
Markham, ON

executive.director@cda.ca

British Columbia Director

bio pic

Jeremy Bruce
Klohn Crippen Berger
Vancouver, BC

britishcolumbia.director@cda.ca

Territories Director

bio pic

David Morissette
Morrison Hershfield
Whitehorse, YK

territories.director@cda.ca

Alberta Director



Javid Iqbal
Alberta Environment & Parks
Edmonton, AB

alberta.director@cda.ca

Saskatchewan Director



Allison Ruecker
Saskatchewan Water Security Agency
Moose Jaw, SK
 
saskatchewan.director@cda.ca

Manitoba Director



Brian Earl
Province of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB

manitoba.director@cda.ca

Ontario Director


Brent Craig
Ontario Power Generation
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON

ontario.director@cda.ca

Quebec Director

Michel Dolbec
WSP
Quebec, QC


quebec.director@cda.ca

New Brunswick and
Prince Edward Island Director

bio pic

Benjamin McGuigan
GEMTEC
Fredericton, NB

newbrunswick.director@cda.ca

 

Nova Scotia Director

    

Alex Campbell
Wood PLC
Dartmouth, NS

novascotia.director@cda.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador Director

 



Sterling Parsons
WSP Canada
Conception Bay South, NL

newfoundland.director@cda.ca

Director-at-Large (ICOLD)



Marc Smith
WSP Canada
Montreal, QC

director-at-large.icold@cda.ca

Director-at-Large

Michel Julien
Agnico Eagle Mines
Montréal, QC

director-at-large@cda.ca

 

Downloads

CDA By-law - 2022

Roles and Responsibilities for Regional Directors

Past Directors