Dam Safety Committee

The Dam Safety Committee has a primary mandate to provide stewardship to CDA technical publications including the Dam Safety Guidelines and related technical bulletins. The committee identifies issues that are relevant and important to dams and dam safety in Canada with implications for dam owners, dam practitioners, regulators and the public. They also provide oversight to a number of working groups to fulfill more specific mandates. Currently, there are seven active working groups under the committee.

To read the committee's Terms of Reference, you can download it below.  At this time, the Terms of Reference is only available in English.

Terms of Reference


Jarrod Malenchak, Chair Ontario Power Generation  ON
Tony Rattue, Vice-Chair SNC-Lavalin QC
Tony Bennett  Ontario Power Generation        ON
Des Hartford BC Hydro BC
Ashley Hobbs Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro NL
Violeta Martin  Knight Piésold     BC
Katherine Miller Metro Vancouver BC
Eric Péloquin, Board Liaison Hydro-Québec   QC
Clare Raska Independent Consultant BC
Stephen Rigbey SJR Consulting BC
Jean-Pierre Tournier Hydro-Québec QC
Andy Zielinski HYDROSMS Inc. ON

Working Groups

Working Group Lead Employer Province
Dam Safety 101 Jennifer Sinclair  Tetra Tech BC
Dam Safety Program Management Tony Bennett Ontario Power Generation ON
Dam Safety Reviews Terry Oswell BC Hydro BC
Design and Construction Tony Rattue SNC-Lavalin QC
Emergency Management Tony Bennett Ontario Power Generation ON
Functions, Failure Modes and Failure Mechanisms Stephen Rigbey SIR Consulting BC
Public Safety Tony Bennett Ontario Power Generation ON
Dikes and Levees Vincent Cormier WSP Canada QC

CDA Staff Support

Allan Kirkham, Committee Coordinator