Election underway for CDA Director; more candidates sought

The Canadian Dam Association depends on volunteers to lead the Association by serving on the Board of Directors. For 2018, a number of vacant positions have been filled by acclamation, an election is being held to fill another one; and the Nominations Committee is still seeking candidates for Vice President.

Election being held for Manitoba Director

Two candidates have been nominated to serve on the CDA Board as Director for Manitoba: Chaitan Sandhu and Val Yereniuk. Their Statements of Interest are available for downloading from links on this web page.

All CDA members as of August 24 are eligible to vote. Voting opens August 27 and closes September 26. Voters will or have received a notice from a third-party on-line voting system with instructions on how to access their ballot. If you have not received a ballot but believe that you are entitled to vote, please contact CDA Executive Director Don Butcher immediately: executive.director@cda.ca.

Positions filled by acclamation

A number of positions on the Board have been filled by acclamation. These candidates will be presented to the membership at the Annual General Meeting for ratification.

Director for British Columbia: Terry Oswell, BC Hydro (Second two-year term)

Director for Saskatchewan: Jody Scammell, Water Security Agency (First two-year term)

Director for Nova Scotia: John Woods, Minas Energy (First two-year term)

Director for Newfoundland & Labrador: Wendy Warford, Stantec (Second two-year term)

Director-at-Large (ICOLD): Michel Tremblay, SNC-Lavalin (First two-year term)

Candidates sought for Vice President role

The Nominations Committee is still seeking candidates for the position of Vice President / President Elect. This is a three-year senior leadership commitment.

The CDA board strongly encourage members to consider putting their name forward or speaking to colleagues and friends in the industry who may be interested in giving back to the Association. Please contact Nominations Chair Chad LePoudre as soon as possible: nominations@cda.ca.

2018 Nominations & Elections Timeline:

Nominations opened July 12 and ran to August 11
Voting will be open from August 27 to September 26
Election results will be known and communicated to the members no later than September 30
Election results will be ratified at the Annual General Meeting on October 15

2018 Candidates Statements

Chaitan Sandhu

Chaitan Sandhu
(Adobe PDF File)


Val Yereniuk

Val Yereniuk
(Adobe PDF File)