Honouring the Industry

Peter Halliday Award for Service – Tony Bennett
This award recognizes CDA members for their valued contributions and outstanding commitment to the advancement of the Association.
Life Members
Life Membership is granted to CDA members whose lifetime of dedication and achievement has contributed significantly to the dam industry in Canada.  
Four more individuals have been named as Life Members:
  • Bill Duncan
  • Garth Haack
  • Will Jolley
  • Clare Raska
CDA Scholarships
The CDA offers two scholarships annually to full-time post-graduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. The Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship, valued at $5000 is awarded to the top applicant and the CDA Research Scholarship of $2500 is awarded to the runner up.  Candidates are evaluated on the relevance of their research work and the potential for the advancement of knowledge, leadership and community involvement, and academic excellence.
CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship
Neeltje Slingerland of the University of Alberta
CDA Research Scholarship
Brittany Dixon of the University of New Brunswick
CDA Corporate Member Award - Klohn Crippen Berger
Each year the CDA recognizes member organizations who have distinguished themselves within the industry.  
Published Paper
This award is presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper presented by a member in the previous year.  All members who present or publish a technical paper are eligible for this award.  
The winners were Bill Kappel, Syed Abbas, Seifu Guangul, George Sabol, John Menninger, and Sal Figliuzzi for their paper from the 2016 CDA conference titled Updating PMP for the Elbow River: Complex Terrain, Unique Solutions.
Congratulations to all our winners.