Honouring the Industry

On October 16, CDA paid tribute to the industry at its annual awards gala in Quebec City.

Life Members
Life Membership is granted to CDA members whose lifetime of dedication and achievement has contributed significantly to the dam industry in Canada.  

Two more individuals have been named as Life Members:

Allan Kirkham
Tony Rattue

To read about their contributions, please click here.

This year in Quebec City, the organizing committee encouraged Young Professionals and students to submit posters.

This year’s first prize went to Alexandra Tremblay-Bouchard for her poster, Assessment of the internal erosion potential in an ECRD till core.  Second place was awarded to Maxime Bolduc for his poster, Évaluation d’un ouvrage hydraulique affecté par la réaction alcalis-granulats à l’aide d’un modèle d’éléments finis non-linéaire multi-physique.

Published Paper
This award is presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper presented by a member in the previous year.  All members who present or publish a technical paper are eligible for this award.  

The winners were Paul Knox, Andrew Cornett, Mitchel Provan, John Menniger, Rick Lux and Syed Abbas for their paper from the 2017 conference titled Assessment of Debris Issues Impacting Design of a Flood Diversion Project in a Large Scale Physical Model.

For more information about this paper.

CDA Scholarships
The CDA offers two scholarships annually to full-time post-graduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. The Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship, valued at $5000 is awarded to the top applicant and the CDA Research Scholarship of $2500 is awarded to the runner up.  Candidates are evaluated on the relevance of their research work and the potential for the advancement of knowledge, leadership and community involvement, and academic excellence.

CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship
Haley Schafer of the University of Alberta

CDA Research Scholarship
Fatoumata Maϊga of the University of Ottawa

CDA Corporate Member Award – Hydro Quebec
Each year the CDA recognizes member organizations who have distinguished themselves within the industry.  

For more information about Hydro Quebec’s contributions to the industry.

Peter Halliday Award for Service – Terry Oswell
This award recognizes CDA members for their valued contributions and outstanding commitment to the advancement of the Association.

For more information about Terry Oswell’s contributions to the Association.

Inge Anderson Award of Merit – Norbert Morgenstern
This award is presented every two years and recognizes CDA members who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge and practices related to dams in Canada. 

For more information about Norbert Morgenstern’s contributions to the advancement related to dams in Canada.

Congratulations to all our winners.