The CDA Scholarships

The Canadian Dam Association (CDA) offers annually two scholarships to full-time post¬graduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. The scholarships are awarded primarily on the basis of academic excellence and the relevance of the research project to the stated objective, as well as leadership and community involvement. Further information and the application information is available for download.

CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship

The $5,000 CDA – Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship was established in 2009 in honour of the late Gary Salmon, P.Eng. and is awarded to the top ranked applicant.

Previous recipients are:

2009 - Tarek Hamade, McGill University
2009 - Kaley Crawford-Flett, University of British Columbia
2010 - Bryan Tatone, University of Toronto
2011 - Maryam Kalantarnia, McGill University
2012 - Jennifer Nafziger, University of Alberta
2013 - Carl Bernier, Université de Sherbrooke
2014 - Marie-Eve Jean, University of Alberta
2015 - Vincent Castonguay, University of Laval
2016 - Elena Zabolotnii, University of Alberta
2017 - Neeltje Slingerland, University of Alberta
2018 - Haley Schafer, University of Alberta

2018 CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship
Recipient Haley Schafer, University of Alberta, with CDA President Bob Patrick, P.Eng.

CDA Research Scholarship

The CDA Research Scholarship, valued at $2,500, was established in 2012 and is awarded to the second-ranked applicant in the CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship competition. The same application form as the CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship form should be used.

Previous recipients are:

2013 - Ryan Rasmussen, Univeristy of British Columbia
2014 - Marta Lopez-Egea, University of Ottawa
2015 - Kevin Sagan, University of Manitoba
2016 - Sylvain Renaud, École Polytechnique de Montréal
2017 - Brittany Dixon, University of New Brunswick
2018 - Fatoumata Maiga, University of Ottawa

2018 CDA Research Scholarship
Recipient Fatoumata Maiga, University of Ottawa, with CDA President Bob Patrick, P.Eng.

2018 CDA scholarship application
(Microsoft Word Document)