Published Paper Award of Excellence

This award recognizes the contribution made by CDA members in authoring an outstanding article or technical paper related to dams. The award is offered annually to the author(s) of a selected publication made in Canada or internationally. Previous recipients include:

1996 - J. Levay
1999 - Dr. Thomas Vladut
2001 - The Bennett Dam Sinkhole Investigation
2006 - Stephen Rigbey
2007 - Marc Smith, Claude Marche and Benoît Robert
2008 - Ettore Contestabile and Abass Braimah
2009 - Vladimir Alicescu, Jean Pierre Tournier & Pierre Vannobel - Design and Construction of Nemiscau-1 Dam
2010 - Jose A. Vasquez and Jose J. Roncal - Testing River2D & Flow-3D for Sudden Dam-Break Flow Simulations
2011 - CDA/ACB Regulatory Committee
2012 - Jason Bond, Don Kim and John Fletcher - A Study of the Use of GPS Sensors for Structural Monitoring  of the Mactaquac Dam
2013 - Greg Snyder, Wade Beisiegel, Don MacIntyre - Kootenay River OM&S Manuals Streamlining for Functionality
2014 - Alexandre Tournier, Benoit Mathieu, Pierre Vannobel, Yves Tremblay - Conception du profil et construction du socle de béton sous le noyau des ouvrages de retenue de l’aménagement hydroélectrique de la Romaine-2
2014 - Jared Malenchak, Kevin Sydor, Joe Groeneveld, Don Murray, David Fuchs - Cofferdam Risk Review Assessment for River Management at the Keeyask Generating Station in Northern Manitoba, Canada
2015 - Bill Chin, Joseph Quinn, Mark Pernito, Jody Scammell - Geotechnical Assessment of Alameda Dam
2016 - John Perdikaris, Steve Nash - Responding to Major Catastrophic Events for Dam Owners 
2017 - Bill Kappel, Syed Abbas, Seifu Guangul, George Sabol, John Menninger, and Sal Figliuzzi  - Updating PMP for the Elbow River: Complex Terrain, Unique Solutions

CDA paid tribute to industry leaders on October 17, 2017 in Kelowna at the annual awards gala.  The work of 2017 paper included an updated probable maximum precipitation to get a better understanding of the hydrology, and from that develop design criteria for off-stream storage in the upper part of the basin. Given the complex conditions in the basin, a team of experts was involved in the PMP determination and hydrologic modelling.