Life Members

Life membership may be granted to current or former CDA members whose lifetime of dedication and achievement has contributed significantly to the dam industry in Canada. The CDA Honours and Awards Committee recommends individual(s) to the Board for receiving Life Membership. Generally, recipients will have retired from active work (beyond occasional individual consulting) and will have been active members of the CDA or its predecessor associations for at least 10 years. Life Membership includes complimentary membership in CDA.

Inge Anderson Bob Barnes  Mona Bechai  Leo Christl 
Bill Duncan Richard Gervais           Phillip Gilks  Jim Gordon 
Christian Guillaud  Garth Haack  Yousef Hammamji         Charles Holder 
Marion Houston Barry Hurndall       Sayed Ismail            Will Jolley 
Allan Kirkham Pius Ko Guy S. Larocque           Denis LeBoeuf       
Norbert Morgenstern           John Morrison           Huu Phong Nguyen            Jean-Jacques Paré
Garry Poole   Marty Puro Clare Raska         Anthony (Tony) Rattue
Gordon Schellenberg           Grant Smith           Ray Stewart James Tang
Tony Tawil Mai Phat Thai Gerard Verzeni Don Welch 
Andy Zielinski        

The CDA granted life membership to two of its distinguished members in 2020.  New Life Members are: Phillip Gilks, M.Sc, P.Eng. and Denis LeBoeuf, ing., M.Sc., Ph.D, FEIC.

Phillip Gilks, M.Sc, P.Eng.

Mr. Gilks is a dedicated dam engineer with a Bachelor of Science in civil engineering and a Masters of Science in civil engineering (materials & structures) who spent 34 years of his career with NB Power.  He became involved with the alkali aggregate reaction (AAR) at Mactaquac Generating Station in his earlier years, then worked full-time on the management of AAR at Mactaquac ).  Later in his career he was Hydro Manager (managed NB Power’s fleet of Hydro generating stations) and then was involved in the establishment of NB Power’s centralized project management office and a technical advisor to the Mactaquac Life Achievement Program.  Mr. Gilks served on the Board of the Canadian Dam Association from 2003 to 2007 as Director for New Brunswick.  He also chaired the Technical Committee for the CDA conferences in 2007 (St. John’s) and in 2011 (Fredericton).  



Denis LeBoeuf, ing., M.Sc., Ph.D, FEIC

Denis LeBoeuf is a geotechnical consultant and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Laval in Québec. From 1993 to 2000, he was a professor of geotechnical engineering at École de technologie supérieure in Montréal before moving to Laval University in 2000 where he was a full professor in civil engineering until 2020. Dr. LeBoeuf received his undergraduate degree in geological engineering in 1978, and a Master’s in geotechnical engineering, both from Laval University, and a Ph.D. in geotechnical engineering from the University of Sherbrooke in 1989. 

Dr. LeBoeuf’s research interests span both geotechnical earthquake engineering and soil mechanics. He is the author of over 200 articles, communications and technical reports on various topics in soil mechanics, dam engineering and geotechnical earthquake engineering. He is a past associate editor for Canadian Geotechnical Journal (2001-2004) and past Vice-President of the Canadian Geotechnical Society (2002-2004). Dr. LeBoeuf has been awarded a number of prizes for his professional and research activities, including the A.G. Stermac Award from the Canadian Geotechnical Society. He is a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada.