J-P Tournier becomes new CDA President

Jean-Pierre Tournier, a senior technical expert within Hydro-Quebec, has become President of the Canadian Dam Association for the 2018-2019 year.

M. Tournier was elected to the position of President-Elect last year and took over as President at this year’s Annual General Meeting, held in conjunction with the annual Conference October 15 to 17 in Quebec City, Quebec.

Bob Patrick of TetraTech, based in Nanaimo, B.C. has moved in to the position of Past President. Michel Dolbec, WSP in Quebec City, continues as Secretary Treasurer. The office of Vice President is temporarily unfilled (see separate CDA web posting).

Retiring from the Board were:
Doug Kilgour, SaskPower; 
Halina Zbigniewicz, retired from Manitoba Hydro; and 
Robert Cholock, BGC Engineering (Halifax).

Joining the Board were: 
Jody Scammell, Saskatchewan Water Security Agency; 
Val Yereniuk, Manitoba Hydro; 
John Woods, Minas Energy of Nova Scotia; and 
Michel Tremblay of SNC-Lavalin as Director-at-Large, ICOLD.

Returning directors are: 
Terry Oswell, BC Hydro; 
Garry Bucharski, Alberta Environment & Parks; 
Navin Gautam, Ontario Power Generation; 
Martin Ferland, Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change, Government of Quebec; 
Bethanie Parker, NB Power; 
Wendy Warford, Stantec; 
Richard Trimble, TetraTech; and 
Michael Cyr, Klohn Crippen Berger.

Johanne Bibeau of AECOM was appointed by the Board to serve as a special director for the International Commission on Large Dams 2019 Annual Meeting, which Canada is hosting in June 2019 in Ottawa.